YOU TELL ME WHO’S CRAZY HERE

So I’m sitting down in front of my tv the other morning and whose face appears on the screen but Carol Channing’s. Carol Channing, a woman I’ve seen on television all my life. Always perky, quirky, bubbly, funny, the actress and singer will always be remembered for two musical comedy roles: bombshell Lorelei Lee in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes which she originated on Broadway, and Dolly Gallagher Levi in Hello, Dolly! She’s about 90 years old I believe now, with a bunch of awards, including three Tonys, a Golden Globe and an Oscar nomination.

 

As I watched Carol Channing (the program she was on was The View) I listened as she launched what seemed like a ten minute reprimand against the American school system and American society in general, for allowing the arts to be taken out of the schools. I cannot tell you how delighted I was to hear this. Delighted.

 

For you see, as we continue to descend to the depths of Roman Empire debris, no matter how many American flags we thrust up in our yards and on the sides of public transportation vehicles, and faces, everything me and those that came before us have come up with, has been redefined. Whether it’s some girl we know or never heard of before, spreading those thighs and giving blowjobs for us on videos and posting them online, and becoming world famous with a reality show, or China owning 900 billion dollars of United States debt, it’s good to hear from time to time, the tiny little ingredients that has brought us to the way the state of things are now, like the elimination of the arts in our schools for example.

 

While I’m sure it was some liberal agenda years ago (and no I’m not a conservative), that brought us to relinquishing authority over our children, which is why we can’t give them an ass whipping in public or in class when they deserve it, I’m glad I saw Miss Channing to remind me of things that used to exist, like class, and talent. It made me feel like Edward G. Robinson in the movie Soylent Green, whose last desire was to see how nature used to be, before he dies.

Leave a Reply

